Scorpio Soul Search

Linked in memories

11 Comments

Do you link people with each activity in your life?

I Do.

I remember my dad while kneading the flour, who told me how it is important to knead the dough properly to get the best rotis/pooris.

Every time I grind in mixie, the memory of helping my mom years back, when we first got mixie in our house will appear in front of my eyes.

I recall my MIL saying, “this way is the best way to stir” whenever I stir the pot.

When I hear a particular song, a scene involving a friend of mine where we both guessed the song at the same time years back in her house, plays in my mind .

When I see a certain word in the newspaper, I go in a trance thinking about the person who explained the word to me.

I remember my MIL’s sister who gave me a notebook of kolams hand drawn by her with color sketches in it, all the time I put Kolam(rangoli) in our home

When seeing a specific movie songs on TV, I go to my childhood, where my brother memorised the lyrics dutifully and impressed us.

I get the memory of a friend whenever I tie my saree since she is the one who tied my first saree in the college hostel.

Upon seeing a particular model vehicle, it takes me to the friend with whom I have travelled in it first time.

When lighting the lamp, I get the image of my sister who loved to do it everyday in our home.

When I see an actress, the memory of the friend who resembled her in college days and all the time we spent together comes rushing in.

When I eat idlies, it comes to my mind how my elder sister hated them after having them in lunchbox throughout school days.

A joke shared may pop open a brain cell to bring forth a cousin and the place we vacationed.

When I hear about a particular ailment it reminds me of the person who suffered from it in my office.

A certain shop will always remain as a place visited with my Sister-in-law and a restaurant with another SIL!

The movie, ‘Still Alice’, which shows the deterioration of the brain cells in the main character (Splendidly performed by Julianne Moore) after the early onset of a rare Alzheimer disease, which I watched recently and became emotional, brought forth all these links with my thoughts. I got involved with the movie so much and started relating to the incidences where I forgot things  and couldn’t recollect even after scratching my head. 🙂

Her pain is relatable as who would like to forget all these memories linking us to so many loved ones in our life. So by putting them here, I can at least back up once in a while!!:D

the-laughter-the-memories-the-pain-happiness-saying-quotes-pictures

Author: rdsv

Reading and Writing are my hobbies and enjoy the most.

11 thoughts on “Linked in memories

  1. Beautiful.

  2. Good one rema…the article has made me to rewind my memories too…

  3. Lovely Rama!!! Things, events, moments tigger memories in me too!!

  4. Well, It happens quite often in my life….

  5. Superb writing. All of us have memories etched from various incidents and people, and you have penned (typed :P) them well (y)

  6. Good one.. Rama.. Keep it coming

Leave a Reply

